Getting Involved

Over the past month or so I’ve been at work encouraging media to cover an upcoming event for the Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of Northern Alberta. This included writing my first press release, sending out emails and yes I’ll even admit to some praying. I am still unsure if there is any interest from local news stations I contacted. I won’t know until the 21st of this month, the day of the event.

August 21st, starting at 9 am with registration, the SBHANA will hold their 3rd annual Hope Classic. The main goal of the event (besides having fun of course), is to raise awareness for Spina Bifida and money for research. For nearly thirty years the SBHANA has strived to improve the lives of people living with Spina Bifida and/or Hydrocephalus.

I’m hoping to attend, to watch everyone as they walk, run, or wheel through the 5km or 8km course. Hopefully the weather will behave the day of the event! Hoping also my work trying to get media coverage will not be for nought. Spina Bifida awareness has to become more known. My dream is to help make that a reality.

Leave a Reply

