Interesting Meeting in a Grocery Store

I was buying myself some groceries recently and had an interesting encounter. Trying to lift a case of root beer off the shelf, a nice gentleman was about to offer assistance. At the same time, I managed to get the root beer off the shelf, and into my shopping cart. You might think “and you went on your separate ways.” If this is what you’re thinking, you’d be wrong.

True I never found out his name, but we struck up a good conversation. In the course of only a few minutes I learned this kind gentleman had recently undergone a transplant. We joked and shared our surgical “battle wounds” for a moment, and then went our separate ways. As I’ve mentioned, I never did learn his name but I find myself remembering that chance encounter.

It’s intriguing that even while doing something so basic as grocery shopping, you can meet fascinating and engaging people. All it takes is a few minutes, and your whole perspective can change! For me, I have been having pain in my wrists and hands for months now and am waiting testing for possible Carpal Tunnel. Even if I do wind up getting that diagnosis, that’s small potatoes compared to this man. He was a total stranger who, seeing as I may need help, kindly offered me aid. I may never see this person again, but I wish him all the best.

Leave a Reply

