Feeling my Age

Okay so I’m only in my 20s but with my 25th birthday getting closer every day, I’m beginning to feel old. Yes I know I’ve got “years ahead of me” still, but that doesn’t seem to help how I feel about getting older.  I can remember one time in elementary school, it was my teacher aide’s birthday and she was in a foul mood all day. At the time, I didn’t quite understand what was making her so upset. When I asked her, and she told me (after much prodding) how old she was turning, I remember guffawing. Thirty wasn’t old, I thought!

Now though, I find myself looking back at that day with new understanding. If I’m feeling the age crunch from turning twenty-five soon, imagine what I’ll be feeling at thirty!? I’ll be every bit as upset as my teacher aide was. I have to wonder, what will it be like at forty? Or fifty!

Yes, I still have years of shelf life as it were, but so much has gone by already. I’ve graduated high school, and am about to write finals for College. Only time can tell, what the future will bring. Ready for it, or not I have to keep on going.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 18:46:25

    Hmm, I’m a bit under 2 years until 30 now, but I still feel pretty good about everything. I think it’s all a matter of attitude. I certainly don’t feel old so I don’t really care if the numbers are getting bigger. Also, having a birthday is way better than not having one. 😉

    Reply

  2. Sid
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 03:40:04

    When I turned 25, I became overdramatic and I canceled my party at my favorite pub and went to Shoppers Drug Mart and bought Oil of Olay. At 37, I roll my eyes at my ridiculous 25 year old self for doing so. 25 is still really young and there is so much more growing and learning to do, most importantly – about yourself. So enjoy the time doing so and don’t fret about a number. Embrace your 20s and get ready for your 30s, which in my opinion, are 100x better. Like a fine wine, we really do get better with age.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

