Plenty to be Thankful For

Here we are, at the end of another Thanksgiving long weekend. What do you have to be thankful for? Did you enjoy turkey dinner?

This year my family did not have a traditional turkey dinner, but instead had scalloped potatoes and ham. Some might say that’s not a true Thanksgiving meal. I would counter, what in essence would qualify and does it truly matter? If you think about it, what did Pocahontas and John Smith have to eat their first Thanksgiving? I doubt it was the elaborate spreads most have become accustomed to.

Maybe it doesn’t matter what food we eat and what we watch on television while we celebrate today. More importantly we should focus our attentions on what we have in our lives that is good; family, friends, good health, and education. The list could go on, but I think I’ll stop there for now. So what am I thankful for?

I am thankful to my friends for supporting me, my dreams to keep me going through hard times, and the determination and drive to keep going. Also I am thankfully to live in a country where I am allowed my dreams. I have the opportunity to further my education and work towards a career of my choosing. I am grateful to all those who, in the past year, have given me advice and helped answer my questions relating to my career aspiration.

This year I am thankful for so much. What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

