My Love for Cultures Explained

I have been intrigued by world cultures for years. This includes the religion and beliefs, food, history, etc of the various cultures I have studied. I find it infinitely fascinating that there are so many diverse and interesting cultures in the world. As a girl growing up in Canada, I can remember going to Chinatown in Edmonton and savouring the foods and beverages; being enthralled by the dragon dances at Chinese New Year, as the head of the dragon bopped up and down, and the body weaved in and out through the crowd so seamlessly. To a young child, that left a lasting impression on me. My fascination with cultures doesn’t end with Chinese culture.

I am proud to state that I am a Canadian. I am equally proud to state I am of European heritage. Northern Irish, Scottish, French, German, Welsh, and Swedish all make up who I am. As such and due to my wanting to play homage to my ancestry, I have learned to speak some French, German, Swedish and Irish. (When it comes to Welsh, I sadly know only shw mae which means hello, plus the first line of the lullaby All Through the Night).

Beyond that I’ve been introduced to Indian foods like samosa and naan bread, and find them both to be absolutely delicious. More than the food though, I can honestly say I absolutely love the look of saris.  I even like the look of Tilaka, Tikka and bindi.  Tilaka and bindi are marks applied to the forehead; whereas Tikka is a piece of jewellery worn in the part of the hair. To top off my fascination with Indian culture is the Gayatri Mantra. The Gayatri Mantra is the foremost mantra in Hinduism, and to my mind it’s one of the prettiest and most spiritual sounding songs, I have heard in my life.

I have studied the histories of Chinese culture, and Russian civilization. I’ve known the words to Waltzing Matilda by memory, since I was a child. I have a, not so secret, love for koalas and kangaroos; finding them to be absolutely adorable animals.

I can’t say I know everything about any given culture I’ve studied. I continue to learn every day, and be endlessly fascinated. With so many cultures in the world, I’ll be at this for years to come.

Leave a Reply

