Interview with a Journalist – Jasmine Franklin

To continue with my idea of interviewing journalists in various areas of journalism as well as points in their careers (fledgling to house hold name), I set out to interview Jasmine Franklin, a young journalist just starting off in her career. From job influences to who her great role models have been in the journalist world. I hope you enjoy. Best of luck in everything Ms. Franklin.

1. First what influenced you to a career in journalism?

To be honest, journalism was never a career I considered growing up. I have always been a writer by nature and knew my chosen profession would involve writing but as to how, I was never sure. I can tell you however; once I got into journalism school I was astonished at how natural everything was for me. The whole profession challenged and excited me in a way I had never encountered before. In the most cliché’ description – it fit like a glove.

2. Did you have any journalists you looked up to, as you went about studying in journalism school and otherwise worked towards becoming a journalist?

I’ve never looked up to a specific journalist or aspired to be like anyone though I do believe Edmonton’s media has some truly talented individuals.  I’m still learning, and I hope to continue learning as long as I’m in this business. On that note, I do read other journalist’s work daily to see how they approach stories. I like to stay very in tune with those working around me.

3.What is a typical day for you, as a journalist with the Edmonton Sun?

A typical day for me includes a coffee run first thing in the morning, this is very important. I head into the office to get my assignments for the day and immediately begin making calls.

I usually have between one to four stories daily as well as shoot stand-ups videos for the website. Aside from being a general reporter, I am also acting editor for Edmonton Sun 24 Hours, so mid-afternoon I work on what will go in the next day edition of 24 hours. After that, I write my stories up, head into the editorial meeting and then send the needed content to Toronto.

I love the diversity and uncertainty in each day and assignment.

4.What has been one of the highlights so far, in your career?

I think the highlights of my career so far have been an accumulation of things. Firstly, the people I’ve had a chance to work alongside as well as interview have been incredible. It’s humbling to see such various talents all around you every day.

My most memorable stories though would have to be the first health story I wrote that broke across a few provinces as well as this summer’s past home explosion in Edmonton. I also had a chance to interview former Canadian journalist Mike Duffy who told me I was headed for TV – I’m not sure I believe him, but either way, he was awesome.

5.What has been one of the not so good moments for you, in your career so far?

As a young journalist I have faced a few challenges. One being, as a 21-year-old female who is generally always bubbly and happy, I do encounter a select few who don’t take me seriously. It took me a long time to establish myself as a serious journalist when I first started out. I had to work really hard and cover some difficult stories to prove my abilities.

Secondly, I’m continuing to learn how to separate myself from the job at times. There have been days where literally all I write about is sadness and death. It doesn’t happen often, but when it does it can be hard to handle.

6. Do you have any future goals or hopes for your career that you would be willing to share?

I’m still figuring that out. For now, I want to become the best well-rounded journalist that I can be and learn as much as possible.

I do love being on camera for news stories but there’s something nostalgic and wonderful about print that I’m not sure I’ll ever want to let go of.

I do want to add one last thing – I’ve been extremely lucky to have a supportive family, co-workers and bosses who challenge and push me to my limits. There is a great group of Edmontonians who consistently read my work and there’s nothing better than knowing there is an audience out there that cares.

Thank you Ms. Franklin for your time for this interview. Best wishes in your future career endeavours.

Leave a Reply

