Interview a Journalist – Jeremy Lye

This is the last interview in this series. Thank you to Mr. Lye for taking the time for this interview.

1. What made you first want to become a journalist?

I sort of fell into it. Living in Australia I decided to get my masters in Journalism. I thought journalism would be interesting. There was one lecture by Bruce Grundy, a well-known journalist in Australia, which I found fascinating. Just the way he lectured was fascinating.

2. Have you always been in radio?

No. I was in print in Australia as part of Masters then I did radio for 6 months after that. Then I travelled to Honduras and did radio there. I enjoy writing for print; you can really get into the story.

3. What’s one memorable story you’ve covered from your career?

While living in Whitecourt in 2007 there was a news story in Calgary about a nuclear power plant opening in Alberta. I made some calls and discovered it was true. Energy Alberta tried to politely ask me not to break the story (they wanted to announce it themselves at a later date).  In the end, I broke the story.

4. What has been your biggest achievement professionally?

I think it’s working at a job I love, and loving what I do.

5. Any future professional goals or projects on the horizon?

No. At this stage of my life, my priority is family.

6. Finally, what is one piece of advice you could give to an aspiring journalist?

Don’t do anything without researching first.

Leave a Reply

