Toddlers and Tiaras, or Spoiled Kids?

I’ve been watching Toddlers and Tiaras lately. I’ve also read comments online being made of the show. A vast number of people believe it is wrong to dress girls up in makeup, big poofy hairpieces, glittery dresses, etc. I’d tend to agree – and yet, not completely. Yes, I believe the fake tan, flippers, and hairpieces should not be meant for little girls (anywhere between a couple months to 8 years). Though, I do think there just might be something to the argument of “it builds confidence.”

Imagine having to go on stage in front of a crowd of people, you do not know; it’s not easy. I’ve been on stages before. I played piano in recitals for years when I was growing up. I’ve also sang in music festivals, school concerts and recitals. Looking back on that, those experiences being on stage instilled in me a confidence I might not have otherwise been given.

Though, it can be taken too far. Being told “You’re the prettiest” and “You’ll beat all the other girls (and boys)” must take its toll. Sure young children can naturally have tantrums and be otherwise unruly at times. Yet, when I watch Toddlers and Tiaras I cannot help but wonder if growing up in pageantry is making for some really big egos. I’ve literally seen girls crying on the show, when they didn’t win the big Grand Supreme title. Sure, it is a learning curve to know how to be a good sport. For those girls who are said to have done a whole boatload of pageants, surely they did not win them all? Kids will be kids but come on, learn to lose graciously. Do NOT whine, cry, stomp your feet or pout. It just looks downright silly.

Though in the end, I’m sure pageants will go on. Children will continue to put on the big dresses with way too many rhinestones, and makeup and their fake tans and flippers. Undoubtedly I will keep watching Toddlers and Tiaras. If for no other reason, than I am curious who will win.

Leave a Reply

