Parakeets or Escape artists?

So, I’ve been making steady progress with taming my birds. HOWEVER, twice now my one parakeet, Solange, decided to make a break for it while I had the cage door open, while I was trying to train them to go on my finger.

Now I have made a decision. I will only train them when there is someone else in the apartment (like my mother) who can catch them, if they escape again.

As for the progress they are making in being tamed, Crystal had both feet on my middle finger yesterday for a few seconds to half a minute. Not that long a time at all, but it’s a start.

Leave a Reply

